Posts tagged gluten

Hidden Sources of Gluten

Some folks have no choice but to go gluten-free due to food allergies.  But even if you don’t have to go wheat-free…reducing your intake of gluten is a great way to incorporate other healthful, and often less problematic, grains into your diet! Gluten is not always obvious on food labels, so you’ll need to get up to speed on where it is hiding.

Here are some of gluten’s guises on ingredient labels:

  • Barley (flakes, flour, pearl)
  • Breading and bread stuffing
  • Brewer’s yeast
  • Bulgur
  • Durum (type of wheat)
  • Farro/Faro (also known as spelt)
  • Graham flour
  • Hydrolyzed wheat protein 
  • Kamut (a type of wheat)
  • Malt, malt extract, malt syrup, and malt flavoring
  • Malt vinegar
  • Malted milk
  • Matzoh, matzoh meal
  • Modified wheat starch
  • Oatmeal, oat bran, oat flour, and whole oats (unless they are from pure, uncontaminated oats)
  • Rye bread and flour
  • Seitan (A meat-like food derived from wheat gluten used in many vegetarian dishes)
  • Semolina
  • Spelt (A type of wheat also known as farro or faro, dinkel)
  • Triticale
  • Wheat bran
  • Wheat flour
  • Wheat germ
  • Wheat starch

There are also a few more lesser-know gluten ingredients…see the complete, informative article at WebMD!

VEGAN DAILY RECIPE:  Asian-Styled Seitan And Vegetable Stew

VEGAN DAILY RECIPE:  Asian-Styled Seitan And Vegetable Stew

free counters
Free counters